Material consists of twelve account books for the Pencraig estate, dating from 1867 to 1916.
Pencraig Estate Accounts
- This material is held at
- ReferenceGB 222 BMSS PENC
- Dates of Creation1867-1916
- Name of Creator
- Language of MaterialEnglish.
- Physical Description12 items
- Direct Link
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
Pencraig, an estate of 186 acres was located on the outskirts of the town of Llangefni, Anglesey. In 1867 it was owned by Sir Richard Waldie Griffith, who was descended from a branch of the Griffith family of Penrhyn, near Bangor in Gwynedd, whose members had sought their fortunes in Ireland in the reign of Queen Elizabeth. There was a strong family association with the military and many Irish intermarriages. When Sir Richard Waldie Griffith died about 1879, without issue, his interest in the Pencraig estate passed to this aunt who had married a Colonel Bramston Smith of Dublin. After their deaths, he in 1890, she in 1907, the estate passed to their daughters, the elder who had married a Lieutenant Colonel Phibbs of the Royal Irish Fusiliers and the younger who had married a Captain Newman of Cork. By 1916 the estate seems to have been in the possession of Mr H.T. Daniell of London, who was married to Mrs Phibbs' daughter Maude. The estate was put up for sale in 1952 and is the site of Pencraig housing estate and a third level college, known as Coleg Pencraig (a constituent college of Coleg Menai, Bangor).
Material is arranged in chronological order and incorporated into the General Collection of Bangor Manuscripts .
Conditions Governing Access
Description compiled by Anne Lenaghan, November 2001.
Other Finding Aids
Item level word-processed list is available at the Archives Department of the University of Wales, Bangor. Reference numbers: General Collection of Bangor Manuscripts: 4575-4586
Conditions Governing Use
Open to all users
The Pencraig Papers were kept at the Llangefni estate office of Lord Boston of the Lligwy estate and deposited at the library of the University of Wales, Bangor, with the Lligwy Papers in April 1942. The only connection between the Pencraig estate and Lligwy seems to be that Lord Boston's agents, Mr Nichols Jones and after him Mr Withinshaw, acted for both estates.