Sylvia Waugh Collection

Archive Collection

Scope and Content

Contains draft manuscripts and typescripts for all five books in the 'Mennyms' series and for 'Earthborn' and 'Who Goes Home?' (volumes II and III of the 'Ormingat' trilogy) along with a limited amount of correspondence and related material. The collection is arranged into four series, based on the original order of the material when deposited. There are two series of drafts, one for the 'Mennyms' series and the other for the 'Ormingat' trilogy; a series of correspondence and related material, which covers all of Waugh's published books and some unpublished stories; and a series of printed books, which includes UK & US editions of all of Waugh's published works, and some foreign language editions of the 'Mennyms' series.

Administrative / Biographical History

Created by Sylvia Waugh in the course of her career as a writer.


The collection is arranged into four series - 'Mennyms' series, 'Ormingat' trilogy, Correspondence and related material, and printed books. Further information on the contents of each series can be found at series level in the catalogue.

Conditions Governing Access

Accessible to all researchers, by appointment only.

Custodial History

Donated to Seven Stories by the creator in 2005. Additional accruals were donated in 2007 and 2008.

Personal Names