University College Nottingham Air Squadron was formed in April 1941 to give training equivalentto the Initial Training Wing Course. Broadgate House, Beeston was converted to lecture rooms andoffices for the squadron headquarters. Professor C.M. Attlee M.A., head of the Department ofEducation, was appointed commanding officer with the rank of Wing Commander. By 15 July 1941, 32students had passed the selection and medical board and were issued with kit at RAF Hucknall. Theywent to RAF Newton on the following day and became the first students of the squadron. Thesquadron's name changed to Nottingham University Air Squadron in 1948 following the college's changeof status to a university.
A Technical Flight unit was established in 1953 but by 1955, economy measures had cut the FlyingFlight by a third and two planes were taken away. The 1960s saw a boom in popularity for places inthe squadron. In November 1967, the name changed to East Midlands Universities Air Squadron toreflect the support and recruitment from Leicester and Loughborough universities and TrentPolytechnic, Nottingham. By the 1970s, the squadron was integrated into the training structure ofthe RAF. In 2001, the squadron moved its flying activities from RAF Newton to RAF Cranwell. It isstill in existence and remains affiliated to The University of Nottingham.