Society records of the Methodist Church, York, Groves Chapel

Scope and Content

Records of Groves School Chapel, including register of baptisms, 1870-1889; records of Trustees’, including treasurer’s account book, 1868-1923, and school Trustees’ meeting minute book, 1920-1938; financial records, including subscription lists and chapel accounts, 1867-1873, and rental book, 1867-1871.

Records of Groves Wesleyan Chapel (Cotford Place, Clarence Street), including register of baptisms, 1889-1922; register of marriages, 1886-1972; Trustees’ meeting minute books, 1883-1938, 1942-1954; Leaders’ Meetings and Annual Society Meetings minute books, 1952-1971; financial records, including Society Steward’s account book, 1933-1957, account book, 1969-1976, pew rents ledgers and accounts, 1884-1929, collections journal, 1903-1908, 1923-1962, and other papers, 1938-1943; records of the Poor Fund, including account book, 1910-1946, and correspondence, 1881; records of the Bazaar Committee, including meeting minute book, 1924-1958, and correspondence and papers, 1929-1958.

Sunday School records, 1878-1986, including Council minute books, 1888-1986; Officers’ minute books, 1878-1922; financial papers, 1931-1972; rules, 1888; reports, 1901-1921, 1924-1953; class attendance registers, 1957-1958, 1965-1972; individual reports on classes, 1924-1944; scripture examination results’ sheets, 1964-1969; papers relating to annual trips, 1952, 1966-1968; Sunday School anniversary service programmes, 1933-1940, 1943, 1944; and Youth and Sunday School festival programmes, 1945-1952.

Summary annual account book for the Groves Chapel Trust and Brook Street School and Houses Trust, 1886-1971.

Administrative / Biographical History

Groves Chapel was a Wesleyan Methodist chapel built at the junction of Clarence Street and Wigginton Road, York, in 1883. Designed by W. J. Morley of Bradford, it could accommodate 800 people. An organ was installed in 1888 and classrooms were added in 1894. A rear extension was added in the 1950s. .

It replaced the Brook Street School-Chapel (sometimes known as Groves School Chapel) which dated from 1868, although it continued to be used as a school until 1890.

Originally part of the York, New Street Circuit (later renamed the Clifton Circuit) of the Wesleyan Methodist Connexion, it continued as part of the York, Clifton Circuit of what became a single Methodist Connexion after 1932. In 1957 it became part of Clifton & Monkgate Circuit (also known as Trinity Circuit).

In 1973 the congregations of Monkgate and Groves Chapel, York, joined together to form the new Trinity Methodist Church. The new church was based at the chapel on Monkgate and Groves Chapel was sold to York Health Authority. It was sold again in 2014 to a property developer.

Conditions Governing Access

Records are open to the public, subject to the overriding provisions of relevant legislation, including data protection laws. 24 hours' notice is required to access photographic material.

Acquisition Information

The archive was deposited at the Borthwick Institute in the 1980s. Further additions were made to the archive in 1994, 1997, and 2014.

Note

Groves Chapel was a Wesleyan Methodist chapel built at the junction of Clarence Street and Wigginton Road, York, in 1883. Designed by W. J. Morley of Bradford, it could accommodate 800 people. An organ was installed in 1888 and classrooms were added in 1894. A rear extension was added in the 1950s. .

It replaced the Brook Street School-Chapel (sometimes known as Groves School Chapel) which dated from 1868, although it continued to be used as a school until 1890.

Originally part of the York, New Street Circuit (later renamed the Clifton Circuit) of the Wesleyan Methodist Connexion, it continued as part of the York, Clifton Circuit of what became a single Methodist Connexion after 1932. In 1957 it became part of Clifton & Monkgate Circuit (also known as Trinity Circuit).

In 1973 the congregations of Monkgate and Groves Chapel, York, joined together to form the new Trinity Methodist Church. The new church was based at the chapel on Monkgate and Groves Chapel was sold to York Health Authority. It was sold again in 2014 to a property developer.

Other Finding Aids

A typescript finding aid, to file level, is available for consultation in the searchroom of the Borthwick Institute. This includes all material received up to and including 1997. Later material has not yet been listed, please contact the Institute for more information.

Alternative Form Available

Copies of the baptismal registers, 1870-1900, and the marriage register, 1886-1900, are also available on microfilm at the Borthwick Institute (References: MF 1784).

Archivist's Note

Created by S. A. Shearn, 22.11.16.

Conditions Governing Use

A reprographics service is available to researchers subject to the access restrictions outlined above. Copying will not be undertaken if there is any risk of damage to the document. Copies are supplied in accordance with the Borthwick Institute for Archives' terms and conditions for the supply of copies, and under provisions of any relevant copyright legislation. Permission to reproduce images of documents in the custody of the Borthwick Institute must be sought.

Custodial History

Items 68-77 were transferred from the North Yorkshire County Record Office.

Accruals

Further accruals are expected.

Related Material

Circuit records for York, New Street (renamed Clifton) Circuit of the Wesleyan Methodist Connexion and the York, Clifton and York, Clifton & Monkgate Circuits of the Methodist Connexion are also deposited at the Borthwick Institute. These form a single archive: Circuit records of the Methodist Connexion, York (New Street) Circuit (MRC/1).

Additional Information

Published

GB193