Deeds and other documents relating to the Clifton Hotel, Dolgellau, 1830-1978.
Clifton Hotel, Dolgellau, Deeds
- This material is held at
- ReferenceGB 220 Z/DBY
- Dates of Creation1830-1978
- Name of Creator
- Language of MaterialEnglish
- Physical Description22 items
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
In 1811 it was decided in the Quarter Sessions for Merionethshire that a new gaol was needed in Dolgellau. The old gaol in Smithfield Square was sold, and in about 1830 became a private house called Bennar. Its occupants included Dr John Wynne and the land surveyor Thomas Payne. In about 1867 it became the Talbot Hotel, owned by David Pugh. By 1900 it had ceased to be a hotel and changed its name again to Einion. By 1945 however it had become the Clifton Hotel, owned by Jennie Rowlands (d. 1975).
Conditions Governing Access
Compiled by Rhys Jones for the ANW project. The following sources were used in the compilation of this description: Meirionnydd Archives, Clifton Hotel, Dolgellau, catalogue; Owen, Hugh J., 'The Common Gaols of Merioneth during the eighteenth and nineteenth centuries', Cylchgrawn Cymdeithas Hanes a Chofnodion Sir Feirionnydd, III (1), pp. 1-30.
Other Finding Aids
Hard copies of the catalogue are available at Meirionnydd Archives and the National Library of Wales.
Conditions Governing Use
Usual copyright regulations apply
All records have been retained
Accruals are not expected