A collection of 228 items of the Rev. Joseph Morris (1806-1891) of Madryn Lodge. It includes Joseph Morris's autobiography down to the year 1876 and diaries from 1841 to 1891; papers relating to his ministries at Portmadoc and Bwlchtocyn and his early experiences in Liverpool; sermon notes and records of preaching engagements; letters to Joseph Morris from Sir Love Jones Parry, his sons, Owen Morris (a sailor who was lost at sea in 1867), Ebenezer Morris (who entered the ministry, emigrated to the United States and returned after serving in various Independent churches in Bradford (Pa.), Pottersville, New York and Wilkesbarre); his wife Jane Morris and daughter Jane; letters from Joseph Morris to his wife and son Hugh Price Morris; collection book in connection with the debt on Peniel Chapel, Ceidio, 1865; and an account book of wages paid to Madryn workmen, 1865-1886. Also included is an account by Owen Morris (Joseph Morris's sailor son) of a voyage from Callao - Cork - London in 1856-1857; diaries of Hugh Price Morris, 1882-1892, and letters to him from members of the family, 1857-1895.
- This material is held at
- ReferenceGB 222 MORF
- Dates of Creation1825-1911
- Language of Materialwelsh english
- Physical Description0.5 linear metres
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
The Rev. Joseph Morris (1806-1891), was an ordained Independent minister, and a master carpenter and overseer of workmen on the estate of Sir Love Jones Parry of Madryn, South Caernarvonshire. He was the youngest of 12 children of Cae'n y Morfa, Clynnog. They moved to a small holding on the slopes of Gyrn Goch. He then became a farm hand for his great uncle at Brynaerau Isaf. From there he moved to Llandegai to live with his sister and her husband and began an apprenticeship as a joiner. In 1825, he decided to go to Liverpool to try and better his world. He arrived there with only a little English and a little money in his pocket. However he returned to Llandegai in 1828, and began preaching. He decided to try Liverpool again, and returned there in 1830. Whilst there, he received many invitations to preach at the Tabernacle Chapel, Crosshall Street. He returned once more to Llandegai in 1831, and then again to Liverpool the following year. The same year he was persuaded to accept the ministry of the Independent church in Portmadoc. He also began keeping a day school. He then received a calling to Salem Chapel in Portmadoc, and was ordained there in October 1834. In 1837 he accepted the calling to go to Bwlchtocyn Chapel. His wife died in 1845, and he decided to give up his ministry as he was disheartened, although he did remarry later. He then went to work for Sir Love Jones Parry of Madryn in August 1849. Then in 1857 he moved into Madryn Lodge. His son Hugh was like his father, a joiner, whilst his other son, Owen became a sailor.
According to person, then type of document
Conditions Governing Access
Open to all users
Presented by Joseph Morris's grandsons, Owen Morris Williams of Morfa Nefyn and the late Rev. Ellis Williams, former minister of Pendref Independent Church, Bangor. Documents 52 to 228 are additional papers that were given by Mr Owen Morris Williams, Morfa Nefyn, in April 1954.
Other Finding Aids
A catalogue at item level mainly, with some exceptions that are series level descriptions. Access Points
Conditions Governing Use
Usual copyright conditions apply. Reprographics made at the discretion of the archivist.