Brasenose Road and Balliol Road Chapel Records

Archive Collection

Scope and Content

12 Account books, 1872-1947.

Accounts of the Bazaar held at Stanley Hall, February 1913.

Minutes of the meetings of the deacons and trustees, 1926-1939.

List of books received by the Library of Balliol Church and names of members, 1930-1934.

Minutes and accounts belonging to the Rhyl Street Sunday School, 1921-1946.

Administrative / Biographical History

It appears that the Welsh Baptist cause in Bootle, Liverpool commenced in Prince's Terrace in 1863. A Church was formed in 1868 and a Chapel erected in Brasenose Road in 1871. It was replaced by the present Chapel in Balliol Road which opened in 1898.

Arrangement

Incorporated into the General Collection of Bangor Manuscripts

Conditions Governing Access

Open to all users.

Note

Description compiled by Elen Wyn Hughes, April 2003.

Other Finding Aids

A typescript catalogue is available at the Archives Department of the University of Wales Bangor. Reference numbers : General Collection of Bangor Manuscripts 17674-17692

Conditions Governing Use

Usual copyright conditions apply. Reprographics are made at the discretion of the Archivist.

Related Material

Further material relating to the Welsh Baptists of Liverpool is held at the Archives Department of the University of Wales Bangor. Consult the Archives Hub for further details.