The collection consists of fifty-seven rubbings of monumental brasses from a wide range of churches, mainly in East Anglia and the East Midlands. In cataloguing, twelve of the subjects remain unidentified. The others are supplied with the names of the subjects, dates, and the churches, and given references to their entry in M. Stephenson, A List of Monumental Brasses in the British Isles (London 1964). The earliest specimen is that for Sir Richard de Buslingthorpe (Buslingthorpe, Lincs) in 1310 and the latest a copy of the stone inscription beneath the 18th-century Beauchamp Brass in St Mary's, Warwick.
A Collection of Brass Rubbings from Churches in East Anglia and the East Midlands, 1925-1927
- This material is held at
- ReferenceGB 159 BRS
- Dates of Creation1925-1927
- Language of MaterialEnglish.
- Physical Description57 brass rubbings
- Direct Link
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
This small collection of brass rubbings seems to have been the work of the Reverend A. Haines, and derives from a number of churches in East Anglia and the East Midlands.
The individual rubbings were filed in no apparent order.
Conditions Governing Access
ACCESS: Accessible to all registered readers.
REPROGRAPHIC: Photocopies and photographic copies can be supplied for educational use and private study purposes only, depending on the condition of the documents.
Other Finding Aids
NOTE: Copyright on all Finding Aids belongs to the University of Nottingham.
- In the Reading Room, University of Nottingham Library: Typescript Catalogue, 4 pp
- At the National Register of Archives, London: Typescript Catalogue, 4 pp
Conditions Governing Use
COPYRIGHT: Identification of copyright holders of unpublished material is often difficult. Permission to make any published use of any material from the collection must be sought in advance in writing from the Keeper of the Department of Manuscripts and Special Collections (email email@example.com ). The Department will try to assist in identifying copyright owners but the responsibility for copyright clearance before publication ultimately rests with the reader.
The collection was given to the University library in 1930.