Menai Suspension Bridge Freeing of Tolls File

Archive Collection

Scope and Content

File of correspondence and papers illustrating the interest shown by Mr Isidore Wartski of Bangor in the efforts before the Second World War to free the Menai Suspension Bridge from Tolls, c. 1930's

Administrative / Biographical History

The Menai Suspension Bridge which links the island of Anglesey to the mainland opened on 30 January 1826. It is one of Thomas Telford's most impressive bridges and was freed from tolls in 1940.

Isidore Wartski, the creator of this collection, was a well-known figure in Bangor, Gwynedd. According to Slater's directory of North and Mid Wales of 1895, there were two businesses located in 21 High Street, Bangor run by the family : Wartski Morris, watchmaker etc. and Wartski & Bolloten, draper & clothiers.

Arrangement

Incorporated into the General Collection of Bangor Manuscripts

Conditions Governing Access

Open to all users.

Note

Description compiled by Elen Wyn Simpson, October 2003.

Other Finding Aids

A typescript catalogue is available at the Archives Department of the University of Wales Bangor. Reference number : General Collection of Bangor Manuscripts 14821

Conditions Governing Use

Usual copyright conditions apply. Reprographics are made at the discretion of the Archivist.

Personal Names