A collection of 642 items and consisting of title deeds and other documents relating to properties in Amlwch and Amlwch Port, Aberffraw, Beaumaris, Bodedern, Bodwrog, Bryngwran, Caerdegog, Ceirchiog, Cerrigceinwen, Clegyrog, Cornwy Lan, Llanallgo, Llanbadrig, Llanbedrgoch, Llanbeulan, Llandegfan, Llandrygarn, (including lease of Calvinistic Methodist chapel), Llandyfrydog, Llandysilio, Llaneilian, Llannerch-y-medd, Llanfaes, Llanfair Mathafarn Eithaf, Llanfair-yn-neubwll, Llanfechell, Llanfihangel Dinsylwy, Llanfihangel Tre'r Beirdd, Llanfihangel Ysgeifiog, Llangadwaladr, Llangoed, Llangwyllog, Llantrisant, Llanwenllwyfo, Llanynghenedl, Llechylched, Newborough, Penrhoslligwy, Rhodogeidio, Rhosfair, Rhoscolyn (Bodior), Trefadog, Trefdraeth (including lease of Calvinistic Methodist chapel and Glan-y-traeth Colliery), Trewalchmai, co. Anglesey; Bangor, Caernarfon, Llanfihangel Bachellaeth, Llanllechid and Llansanffraid Glan Conwy, co. Caernarfon; and Llanfechain, Mathrafal and Trefedryd, co. Montgomery, 1576-1889; wills (original and copy), including those of John Williams of Treban (1805), David Pierce of Bangor (1807), John Parry of Bryn-du, Llanfaelog (1826), Thomas Meyrick of Cefn Coch (1831), Mrs Ann Meyrick of Cefn Coch (1835), John Jones, attorney and town clerk of Beaumaris (1823), David Owen of Trewyn, Llanfihangel Tre'r Beirdd (1855); probates and administrations, 1762-1909; rentals and accounts of the Cefn Coch estate, Anglesey, 1841-82; agency journal and accounts of the Goring (Harry Dent Goring) estate in cos. Anglesey and Caernarfon, 1842-72; agent's accounts of the Plas Gwyn estate, Anglesey, 1840-1; members' subscription book of the Anglesey Druid Society, 1839-44; maps and plans relating to properties in Aberffraw, Amlwch (Bodednyfed estate), Bodwrog (Eirianell and Llynfaes), Heneglwys, Llanddyfnan, Llanfair-yn-neubwll, Llangwyfan, Trefdraeth (Glan-y-traeth Colliery workings) and elsewhere in Anglesey, 1795-1846; miscellaneous papers, including land tax assessments for the parishes of Bodwrog and Llanfaethlu and the township of Caerdedog, 1753-93; correspondence and accounts relating to the Trearddur estate, Holyhead, 1806-1870; papers and documents concerning the title to the Cefn Coch estate, 1689-1901; diaries of E. E. Meyrick of Cefn Coch (mainly disbursements), 1819-50; papers in a Chancery suit (Goring v Vivian) relating to the Llanddyfnan estate, 1821-73; documents relating to the lease of the Tabernacle Chapel, Holyhead, 1823-4; and papers concerning the drainage and reclamation of Malltraeth Marsh, 1898-1918.
Llwydiarth Esgob Manuscripts
- This material is held at
- ReferenceGB 222 LLE
- Dates of Creation1576-1920
- Name of Creator
- Language of Materialenglish latin
- Physical Description5.1 linear metres
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
Mr Thomas Prichard (1846-1920) was a noted antiquary and his keen interest in archaeology led to his collection of important prehistoric implements, which were acquired throughout Anglesey. He was a member of an old family who had lived at Llwydiarth Esgob, Llannerch-y-medd, Anglesey for many generations. His father, Mr Robert Prichard was a solicitor and his son was brought up in his father's profession. He was articled at Reading and returned to Anglesey to assist his father. For many years he was agent for the Bodorgan estate.
According to type and then chronologically.
Conditions Governing Access
Open to all users.
Deposited by Mr R. F. Prichard and Mr Gordon Roberts, solicitors, Llangefni, June 1952.
Other Finding Aids
Catalogue at item level, with some exceptions that are at series level
Conditions Governing Use
Usual copyright conditions apply. Reprographics made at the discretion of the archivist.
'Obituary, Thomas Prichard - 1846-1920', Anglesey Antiquarian Society and Field Club Transactions, (1921) pp. 19-20. Access Points