Town council minutes, 1877-1975; Abstracts of accounts, 1901-1974; Valuation roll, 1974-1975; Miscellaneous loose papers, mostly about Ladybank Roll of Honour and War Memorial, 1906-1923.
Records of the burgh of Ladybank, Fife
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
In 1878 the inhabitants of Ladybank, a village near Cupar in Fife, adopted the General Police and Improvement (Scotland) Act 1862 (25 and 26 Vict., c.101), and Ladybank became a police burgh. Burgh administration was carried out by police commissioners who were responsible for the cleansing, lighting, policing and public health of the burgh. Ladybank owed its origins to the construction in 1846-47 of a junction towards Cupar on the Edinburgh and Northern Railway from Burntisland and Kirkcaldy to Perth. The population in 1881 was 1,072; the main industries were malting and linen, and there was a locomotive depot.
Under the Town Councils (Scotland) Act 1900 (63 and 64 Vict., c.49) the police commissioners were replaced by Ladybank Town Council in January 1901. By 1971 the population 1,176. Ladybank Town Council was abolished in 1975 under the Local Government (Scotland) Act 1973 (c.65). Its powers were assumed by Fife Regional Council and North East Fife District Council. These in turn were replaced by Fife Council in 1996 under the Local Government etc. (Scotland) Act 1994 (c. 39).
By appointment with the Archivist. Access to unpublished records less than 30 years old and other records containing confidential information may be restricted. Special conditions apply to photographs.
Held under charge and superintendence of the Keeper of Records for Scotland.
Description compiled by Rachel Hart, Archives Hub Project, based on description created by Alan Borthwick, Scottish Archive Network project, 17 July 2003 and modified on 5 August 2003.
Other Finding Aids
Typescript catalogue available in St Andrews University Library Department of Special Collections and in National Archives of Scotland search rooms.
Conditions Governing Use
Applications for permission to quote should be sent to the University Archivist. Reproduction subject to usual conditions: educational use and condition of documents.