- Certificates of incorporation 1938;
- Memorandum and articles of association 1947 and 1961;
- Partnership agreements 1951;
- Minutes of directors 1959-1970;
- Records relating to members' meetings 1960-1966;
- Directors annual report and accounts to shareholders 1947-1968;
- Investment records 1946-1962;
- Shareholding records 1948-1969;
- Financial records 1921-1963;
- Sales records c1966;
- Pensions and life assurance 1951-1960;
- Licensed premises records 1955-1963;
- Property records 1962-1965;
- Promotional material c1905-1960.
Records of the James Calder & Co (Brewers) Ltd, Alloa, Scotland
- This material is held at
- ReferenceGB 248 JC
- Dates of Creation1905-1970
- Name of Creator
- Language of MaterialEnglish
- Physical Description1.4 metresThere are no physical characteristics that affect the use of this material
- Direct Link
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
The Shore Brewery , Alloa, Scotland , was built in 1816 by John McNellan . By 1860 , McNellan, Sons & Co had agencies in Glasgow, Scotland , Belfast, Northern Ireland , Liverpool, England and Newcastle-upon-Tyne, England , but during the next year it ran into financial difficulties and was put up for sale in 1862 .
The business was bought by James Calder who acquired , J & A Vannen, Bo'ness Distillery , Bo'ness, Scotland, in 1873 and Glenfoyle Distillery , near Gargunnock, Scotland , in 1880. James Calder's second son, John J Calder , became manager of Calder & Co in 1890 . In 1905 , James Calder & Co (Alloa) Ltd was registered as a limited liability company to acquire the business. In 1913 John J Calder was appointed manager, by the receiver, of Samuel Allsopp & Sons Ltd , Burton-on-Trent, England , which was then in severe difficulties and was appointed chairman of Archibald Arrol & Sons Ltd , Alloa , in 1918 .
The company was re-registered as James Calder & Co (Brewers) Ltd in 1920 and its whisky interests were sold to James Dewar & Sons . Brewing ceased at the Shore Brewery in 1921 , all the company's brewing requirements being contracted out to Archibald Arrol & Sons Ltd . The company acquired a brewery at Ostend, Belgium , for GBP12,718 in 1921 and, with C Vaux & Sons Ltd , Sunderland, England, also took over Robinson Brothers Ltd , Houghton-le-Spring, Sunderland , England, with 63 tied houses in 1925 , dividing the houses between themselves. It also acquired Arrol's Scottish tied houses in the late 1930s ; breweries in Marsa, Malta , and Nairobi, Kenya ; Robert Henderson & Co Ltd , The Mills Brewery, Alloa, Scotland , in 1944 ; Steel Coulson & Co Ltd 's Greenhead Brewery, Glasgow, in 1946 ; and Geo Thomson & Son Ltd , bottlers of Falkirk ; Blairgowrie, Perthshire and Kinross ; and Dysart, Fife , in 1950 .
From 1951 , Arrol ceased to brew ale, so, although that firm continued to supply the company's lager requirements, all its other beer was supplied by John Jeffrey & Co Ltd , Heriot Brewery, Roseburn, Edinburgh . The company opened a new bottling plant at Bankhead Medway, Sighthill, Edinburgh in 1956 . It was acquired in 1960 by Northern Breweries of Great Britain Ltd , later United Breweries Ltd , and ceased to brew.
The material is arranged according to the Scottish Brewing Archive classification scheme used within all SBA collections.
Conditions Governing Access
Tennent Caledonian Breweries Ltd
Other Finding Aids
File level list available in searchroom
Alternative Form Available
No known copies
Conditions Governing Use
Applications for permission to quote should be sent to the Scottish Brewing Archivist
Reproduction subject to usual conditions: educational use & condition of documents
This material has been appraised in line with standard GB 0248 procedures
The collection was previously housed with the rest of the Scottish Brewing Archive at Heriot-Watt University. It moved to the University of Glasgow in 1991. Custody of the Scottish Brewing Archive was transferred to Glasgow University Archive Services in 2008.
This material is original
Fonds level description compiled by Amanda Jackson, Scottish Brewing Archive Assistant, 3 February 2000. Catalogue converted to Encoded Archival Description, 8 June 2005. Catalogue revised by Wiebke Redlich, Archive Assistant (Hub), 12 February 2002; Emma Yan, Assistant Archivist, 19 December 2008; and Michelle Kaye, Archives Assistant, 09 May 2012.