T. Craig-Brown and Co., Woollen Manufacturer, Selkirk

Archive Collection

Scope and Content

Cards Book, 1907-1958. Records the replacement of pieces of carding machinery.

Administrative / Biographical History

Local historian Thomas Craig-Brown was born in Galashiels and was the son of the proprietor of the Border Advertiser. He moved to Selkirk at the age of 24 and set up a wool spinning business with William Brydone as Brydone and Brown. They built Yarrow Mill in 1868, which was greatly enlarged in 1872. The business was carried on by his son, Clive Craig-Brown, and after his death in 1941 the firm was bought by D K Colledge, Managing Director of Kemp and Blair dyers. In 1960 he purchased the spinning department of Ettrick Mills and the company carried on as Ettrick and Yarrow Spinners Ltd. The mill ceased spinning production in 1980 and in 1984 was sold for growing mushrooms.

Arrangement

Chronologically by classification scheme.

Conditions Governing Access

By appointment at the Scottish Borders Campus, Heriot-Watt University, Netherdale, Galashiels.

Acquisition Information

Donated to the Scottish College of Textiles.

Other Finding Aids

A paper finding aid is available in the search room.

Archivist's Note

Description compiled by Helen Taylor, Archivist, Heriot-Watt University Archive, Records Management and Museum Service.

Conditions Governing Use

Photocopies and photographic copies can be supplied for educational use and private study purposes only, depending on the condition of the documents. Permission to publish material from the Archive must be sought in advance from the University Archivist. Responsibility for obtaining copyright clearance rests with the applicant.

Accruals

Not expected.

Related Material

Brown Brothers (HWUA BB) and J and H Brown (HWUA JHB). Records of Ettrick and Yarrow Spinners are held at Glasgow City Archives and Scottish Borders Archives and Local History Centre.

Corporate Names