Parish records of Carlton by Snaith

Scope and Content

Includes register of christenings, 1618-1949 (note this register uses the Dade registration scheme for the years 1777-1812); register of marriages, 1617-1982; register of burials, 1618-1643, 1654-1941 (note this register uses the Dade registration scheme for the years 1777-1812); register of banns, 1812-1987; register of confirmations, 1919-1992; register of services, 1912-1983; charity records, including Elizabeth Fisher Charity bank book and statements, 1978-1987; churchwardens records, including fabric papers, 1908, 1947-1949, 1976-1987, and plans of church, n.d. [late 20th century]; records of incumbents, including binding for register, part of 'Catholicon', printed Venice, 1497, and dilapidations, 1936-1937; records concerning parish rooms and societies, including Mothers' Union bank book and statements, 1982-1985; school records, including managers' minutes of meetings, 1904-1939; Vestry/Parochial Church Council records, including accounts, 1928-1939, electoral roll, 1942-1943, 1949, magazine, 1950, minute books, 1928-1982, account books, 1932-1985, church log book, 1977-1980; bank books and statements for individual church funds, 1966-1987, insurance papers, 1970-1987, and correspondence, 1975-1985; Carlton and Drax Parochial Church Council minute book, 1984-1990.

Administrative / Biographical History

Carlton was a chapel of ease within the parish of Snaith, dedicated to St Mary. Built in 1379, it was a peculiar of Snaith Priory, itself a cell of Selby Abbey, until the Dissolution of the Monasteries in the sixteenth century and thereafter remained subject to the jurisdiction of the Peculiar Court of Snaith until 1857.

In 1861 Carlton separated from Snaith to form a new parish and its wooden chapel was replaced with a new church, partly funded by Lady Isabella Anne Stapleton, the wife of the 8th Lord Beaumont of nearby Carlton Towers. The new church was designed by J. B. Atkinson of York.

Today Carlton by Snaith is part of the parish and united benefice of Carlton and Drax.

Conditions Governing Access

Records are open to the public, subject to the overriding provisions of relevant legislation, including data protection laws. 24 hours' notice is required to access photographic material.

Acquisition Information

The archive was deposited at the Borthwick Institute in 1978 by the incumbent. Further additions were made to the archive in 1983, 1984, 1990 and 2016.

Note

Carlton was a chapel of ease within the parish of Snaith, dedicated to St Mary. Built in 1379, it was a peculiar of Snaith Priory, itself a cell of Selby Abbey, until the Dissolution of the Monasteries in the sixteenth century and thereafter remained subject to the jurisdiction of the Peculiar Court of Snaith until 1857.

In 1861 Carlton separated from Snaith to form a new parish and its wooden chapel was replaced with a new church, partly funded by Lady Isabella Anne Stapleton, the wife of the 8th Lord Beaumont of nearby Carlton Towers. The new church was designed by J. B. Atkinson of York.

Today Carlton by Snaith is part of the parish and united benefice of Carlton and Drax.

Other Finding Aids

A typescript finding aid, to file level, is available for consultation in the searchroom of the Borthwick Institute. This includes all material received up to and including 1990.

Alternative Form Available

Registers of christenings, 1618-1949, marriages, 1617-1971, and burials, 1618-1941, are also available on microfilm at the Borthwick Institute (References: MF 661).

Archivist's Note

Created by S. A. Shearn, 01.02.16.

Conditions Governing Use

A reprographics service is available to researchers subject to the access restrictions outlined above. Copying will not be undertaken if there is any risk of damage to the document. Copies are supplied in accordance with the Borthwick Institute for Archives' terms and conditions for the supply of copies, and under provisions of any relevant copyright legislation. Permission to reproduce images of documents in the custody of the Borthwick Institute must be sought.

Accruals

Further accruals are expected.

Related Material

The parish records of Drax and Camblesforth are also deposited at the Borthwick Institute.

Bibliography

Yorkshire Parish Register Society, 'The parish registers of Carlton-juxta-Snaith. 1598-1812.' Transcribed and edited by W. Jenkinson Kaye (Wakefield, 1934).

Additional Information

Published

GB 193