Sermons, prayers, orders of service, etc. c.1854-1900; constitution and statutes 1851-c.1901; calendars 1865-1878; presentations, collations, ordinations, etc., mainly diocese of Argyll and The Isles 1826-1926; correspondence including letters from George Frederick Boyle, 1832-1929.
College and Collegiate Church of The Holy Spirit, Isle Of Cumbrae
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
In 1848 the Honourable George Frederick Boyle (later 6th Earl of Glasgow) set up a choir school attached to the Church of St. Andrews, Millport. In 1849 Boyle founded and endowed the Episcopal College and Collegiate Church of the Holy Spirit, Cumbrae which was completed in 1851 to plans by William Butterfield. The College was consolidated in the 1860s and affiliated to the University of Durham as Cumbrae Theological College. In 1879 the Collegiate Church was elevated to the status of Cathedral of Argyll and the Isles. It closed in 1888, and between 1919 and 1927 the buildings housed the Community of St Andrew of Scotland.
Records are arranged chronologically within series.
Conditions Governing Access
Open for consultation subject to preservation requirements. Access must also conform to the restrictions of the Data Protection Act and any other appropriate legislation.
This collection forms part of a deposit of books and manuscripts made by the College of the Holy Spirit, Cumbrae to Dundee University Library in 1969.
Fonds level description compiled by Sarah Chubb, Archives Hub Project Archivist, October 2001.
Other Finding Aids
Descriptive list. Subject source lists and databases are also available.
Alternative Form Available
No known copies.
Conditions Governing Use
Reproduction is available subject to preservation requirements. Charges are made for this service, and copyright and other restrictions may apply.