This collection contains minute books, accounts and various scrapbooks of the York Assembly Rooms.
York Assembly Rooms Records
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
Located on Blake Street and designed by Richard Boyle, York's Assembly Rooms were built as a place for social balls and dances. Building work began on the Assembly Rooms in 1730 and was completed by 1735. However, they were first used in the summer of 1732 for Ebor Race week. The Assembly Rooms have since undergone alterations. For example, a new entrance front was designed by J. P. Pritchett in 1828. The Assembly Rooms were purchased by York Corporation in 1925.
Material is available subject to the usual terms and conditions of access to Archives and Local History collections.
Other Finding Aids
More detailed finding aids for this collection can be found online by searching the Explore website ( www.exploreyork.org.uk)
Compiled by Jenny McGarvey, Community Collections Assistant, November 2015.
Conditions Governing Use
Images are supplied for private research only at the Archivist's discretion. Please note that material may be unsuitable for copying on conservation grounds. Researchers who wish to publish material must seek copyright permission from the copyright owner.