Self-portrait in oils by John Frederick Pettinger, art teacher at the Leicester College of Art. The portrait was exhibited posthumously at the 58th annual exhibition of the Leicester Society of Artists in 1940. The Leicester Evening Mail described Pettinger as "one of the finest painters Leicester has ever known" and declared the portrait to be the "most striking" of his works (Feb 9 1940). The Leicester Mercury gave similar praise, calling Pettinger "one of the best painters that has ever made his home in the city ... [the portrait] qualifies to be called a 'speaking likeness'" (Feb 16 1940). Pettinger enjoyed being beside water and lived in a house-boat. The portrait shows him standing outside, paintbrush in hand, with a bay of water behind him. According to the article this is Wells next the Sea, Norfolk, which was a favourite spot of the artist. The painting was purchased by F. Vernon Hewitt, Chairman of the Board of Directors of the Leicester Mercury, who presented it to the College of Art.
John Frederick Pettinger, teacher at the Leicester College of Art
- This material is held at
- ReferenceGB 3071 D/041
- Dates of Creation[1930-1939]
- Name of Creator
- Language of MaterialEnglish
- Physical DescriptionOne oil painting
- Direct Link
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
John Frederick Pettinger was born in Yorkshire in 1877. He studied at the York School of Art and the London College of Art. He began working at the Leicester College of Art in 1904, teaching classes in figure composition, painters' and decorators' work and painting and drawing from life. From 1919 he was part of the newly formed Department of Drawing and Painting, Decoration and Design. In 1931 this was altered to the Department of Draughtsmanship and Painting, and Pettinger was made Head of Department. He retired in 1933, however, and died in 1939 at the age of 62.
Conditions Governing Access
Available for general access. External researchers are advised to make an appointment with the Archivist.
Donated to the Leicester College of Art by F. Vernon Hewitt in 1940.
Catalogued by Katharine Short, Archivist, June 2013.