Alexandra Council School opened on the 16th June 1910 for 540 pupils including boys, girls and infants 9ED/LB/101/16-17). The school had been built at a cost of £14,500 and took it's name from Queen Alexandra, consort of King Edward VII (ED/LB/101/6).
Following the passing of the 1944 Education Act, Alexandra Council School became a secondary modern school catering for girls who had failed the 11Plus Entrance Examination for Grove Park Grammer School. (ED/AR/101/1-2). The implemenation of the 1944 Education Act led to the development of two new Secondary Modern Schools in Wrexham- St. David's and Bryn Offa, which in 1972 became Comprehensive Schools and took all of the senior girls from Alexandra leaving only the infant and junior schools.
The original school building was demolished in January/February 2000 as part of a deal between Wrexham Borough Council and Asda Stores. As part of the supermarket development, ASDA paid for a new school to be built on part of the site. The new Alexandra school opened in September 2000.
This collection includes log books, admission registers, minutes and photographs.
Holt Road, Wrexham.
25" O.S. Map(?) 6" O.S. Map(?)
Related material held at Denbighshire Archives-
NCD/818- Newspaper cutting including photograph of class A Alexandra Junior School in Welsh costume at Wrexham Racecourse celebrating the Jubilee of George V and Queen Mary, 1935.
W. Alistair Williams, The Encyclpedia of Wrexham, 2001.
A.H.Dodd, A History of Wrexham, 1989.