This series comprises records relating to the headquarters of the Bolton Association; Spinners Hall, 77 St George's Road, Bolton. These include papers relating to its administration as well as to the building itself. The class includes plans, papers relating to the extension built in 1910-1911, inventories, tenancy agreements, and accounts and papers relating to the hiring of rooms.
Spinners' Hall, Bolton
- For more information, email the repository
- Advice on accessing these materials
- Cite this description
- This material is held at
- ReferenceGB 133 BCS1/10
- Dates of Creationc.1880-1964
- Physical Description22 items
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
Formerly the Junior Reform Club, the Bolton Association took over the Hall in October 1886. A number of other unions hired rooms there and it was acknowledged as one of the finest trade union buildings in the region. The building's three halls were also let out to private groups for various functions. In 1964, ownership of the Hall passed to the Amalgamated Union of Engineers, although the Association remained at the Hall until its demise.