Records of Ebenezer Welsh Independent Church, Dunvant, 1882-2003, history of Ebenezer, Dunvant, 1972; membership records, 1941-1991; minutes, 1958-2002; Sunday School registers, 1909-1966; annual reports, 1990-2002; statements of account, 1995-1996; Church magazines and news sheets, 1993-2003; programmes and orders of service, 1995-2003; papers relating to repairs and maintenance, 1960-1996; deeds and documents, 1882-2003.
Records of Ebenezer Welsh Independent Church, Dunvant
- For more information, email the repository
- Advice on accessing these materials
- Cite this description
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
Ebenezer Welsh Independent Church, Dunvant, Glamorgan (now Swansea), has its origins in 1870 when a lease was granted by the Berrington estate of a piece of land, on which a schoolroom was built and opened in 1872. The congregation was formed in 1874 from members of Capel y Crwys in Three Crosses, and Bethel, Sketty. The congregation had outgrown the original building by 1881 and a new corrugated iron chapel was built adjacent to it and called Ebenezer. The present chapel was built in 1893.
Arranged into the following: chapel history; records of membership; minutes; Sunday School registers; annual reports; statements of account; Church magazines and news sheets; programmes and orders of service; Church property: repairs and maintenance; Church property: deeds and documents.
It is the policy of the West Glamorgan Archive Service to withhold the names of depositors.
Compiled by Rhys Jones for the ANW project. The following sources were used in the compilation of this description: West Glamorgan Archive Service, Nonconformists - Independent - Records of Ebenezer Welsh Independent Church, Dunvant, 1882-2003, catalogue; NLW, Capeli database, viewed 7 September 2005.
Other Finding Aids
Hard copies of the catalogue are available at West Glamorgan Archive Service.
Conditions Governing Use
Usual copyright regulations apply.
All records have been retained
Accruals are not expected