Register of baptisms 1950-1973; register of confirmations 1951-1964; register of services 1928-1974; certificate of registration: Social Work (Scotland) Act 1968.
Records of the Chapel of St Ronan's Home, Dundee
- For more information, email the repository
- Advice on accessing these materials
- Cite this description
- This material is held at
- ReferenceGB 254 Br MS 12
- Dates of Creation1928-1974
- Name of Creator
- Physical Description4 volumes (0.07 linear metres). The records are on paper.
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
St Ronan's Home is the successor of a Home founded by Lady Jane Ogilvy in 1848 for Rescue Work. It was endowed by Mr J Guthrie Davidson and established in Paton's Lane, Dundee, moving to Dalkeith Road in 1914. The work of the Home came to an end in 1920, but the Governors were unable to sell the building. In 1924 the Governors came to an agreement with the Social Service Board to carry on the work there, and the Home became a maternity centre for unmarried mothers until 1974. Whilst the Home was used by the Social Service board the Governors remained the owners of the property and endowments, and in 1974 the property reverted back to them.
The material is awaiting arrangement.
Open for consultation subject to preservation requirements. Access must also conform to the restrictions of the Data Protection Act and any other appropriate legislation.
The records were deposited by the Diocese in 1997 (AccM/345).
Fonds level description compiled by Sarah Chubb, Archives Hub Project Archivist, February 2002.
Other Finding Aids
Alternative Form Available
No known copies.
Conditions Governing Use
Reproduction is available subject to preservation requirements. Charges are made for this service, and copyright and other restrictions may apply.
The material is original.