- Brochure re North East extension to St. James's Gate Brewery, Dublin, 1977;
- Promotional material, 1994.
Records of Arthur Guinness, Son & Co (Dublin) Ltd, brewers, Dublin, Ireland
- This material is held at
- ReferenceGB 248 AGS
- Dates of Creation1977-1994
- Language of MaterialEnglish
- Physical Description2 files
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
Arthur Guinness established the St James's Gate Brewery, Dublin, in 1759. He died in 1803, the business being inherited by three of his sons, and subsequently by his grandson, Sir Benjamin Guinness, and in 1868 by his great grandsons, Arthur (later first Lord Ardilaun) and Edward (later first Earl of Iveagh).
By 1868 the firm's annual output reached 350,000 barrels of beer, primarily stout for Ireland. Thereafter the business benefited from an explosive growth of sales in Britain when output reached 750,000 barrels in 1875 and 1.2 million barrels in 1886, by which time St James's Gate Brewery was reputedly the largest brewery in the world. Between 1868 and 1886 over GBP 1 million was spent on capital projects. Arthur Guinness, Son & Co Ltd was registered as a limited liability company in 1886, the Guinness family retaining a substantial interest in the business. The Guinness Research Laboratories were established in the 1890s.
In 1936 a brewery was opened at Park Royal, London, for supplying the British market. In 1952 all brewing and marketing operations were vested in subsidiaries, Arthur Guinness, Son & Co (Dublin) Ltd and Arthur Guinness, Son & Co (Park Royal) Ltd. In 1956 marketing in Northern Ireland was taken over by Arthur Guinness, Son & Co (Belfast) Ltd. In the 1960s and 1970s the company diversified by acquiring a wide range of businesses involved in confectionery manufacture, leisure, catering, retailing and publishing. Many of these businesses were disposed of in the early 1980s. The company acquired Arthur Bell & Sons plc, Scotch whisky producers, in 1985, The Distillers Company plc in 1986, and Buckley's Brewery plc, Llanelly Brewery, Gilbert Road, Llanelli, Camarthenshire, in 1988.
From 1952 until 1983 the company was known as Arthur Guinness, Son & Co (Park Royal) Ltd, its name was then changed to Arthur Guinness, Son & Co (Great Britain) Ltd, which it kept until 1997.
Source: Richmond, Lesley and Turton, Alison (eds), "The Brewing Industry: A Guide to Historical Records", (1990, Manchester)
The material is arranged according to the Scottish Brewing Archive classification scheme used within all SBA collections.
Access to records within this collection is open, however an appointment may be required. Please email Archives and Special Collections for advice: firstname.lastname@example.org
GIFT: 18 June 1999
Material acquired by SBA
Other Finding Aids
See also University of Glasgow Collections
File level list available in searchroom
Alternative Form Available
No known copies of this material
Conditions Governing Use
Applications for permission to quote should be sent to the ArchivistReproduction subject to usual conditions: educational use and condition of documents
This material has been appraised in line with standard GB 248 procedures
Unknown prior to deposit in Scottish Brewing Archive. Custody of the Scottish Brewing Archive was transferred to Glasgow University Archive Services in 2008.
Location of Originals
This material is original