Collections book 1800-1807.
Records of Brechin Chapel
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
The Episcopalians were driven from Brechin Cathedral in 1695, establishing a new meeting house in the High Street. In 1743 they built a chapel, but in 1746 Cumberland's soldiers burned the seats and books. Between 1749 and 1770 the charge was vacant and from 1770 to 1786 it was overseen from Tarfside, Lochlee. A new church, St Andrew's, was built in 1809 and later replaced by a new church in 1888.
Conditions Governing Access
Open for consultation subject to preservation requirements. Access must also conform to the restrictions of the Data Protection Act and any other appropriate legislation.
The records were deposited by the diocese in the University Library in 1962.
This collection was previously part of BrMS 4. This reference number was previously used for the collection of photographs, which has now become BrMS 4/7.
Fonds level description compiled by Sarah Chubb, Archives Hub Project Archivist, July 2002.
Other Finding Aids
Descriptive list. Subject source lists and databases are also available.
Alternative Form Available
No known copies.
Conditions Governing Use
Reproduction is available subject to preservation requirements. Charges are made for this service, and copyright and other restrictions may apply.
The material is original.