Dundee District Board of Control

Scope and Content

Minutes 1903-1930; financial records 1915-1921.

Administrative / Biographical History

Dundee District Board of Lunacy was created out of the larger County District Lunacy Board in 1899. In its new form it purchased Westgreen Asylum from Dundee Royal Asylum for Lunatics in 1903 for 90,000. Westgreen Asylum was then developed to provide care for pauper patients in the Dundee area.

From May 1914 the name of the board changed to the Dundee District Board of Control. In 1929 it was taken over by the Health Department of the Local Authority under the Local Government (Scotland) Act. In 1948 operation was transferred to the National Health Service and in 1959 it was incorporated with Gowrie House and the psychiatric wards of Maryfield Hospital to form the Dundee Royal Mental Hospital.


Records are arranged chronologically within series.

Access Information

Open for consultation subject to preservation requirements. Access must also conform to the restrictions of the Data Protection Act and any other appropriate legislation.

Acquisition Information



Fonds level description compiled by Sarah Chubb, Archives Hub Project Archivist, November 2001.

Other Finding Aids

Descriptive list. Subject source lists and databases are also available.

Alternative Form Available

No known copies.

Conditions Governing Use

Reproduction is available subject to preservation requirements. Charges are made for this service, and copyright and other restrictions may apply.

Custodial History



None expected.

Related Material

THB 7 Royal Dundee Liff Hospital

Geographical Names