The collection consists chiefly of documents relating to the sale of Widmerpool Hall and itsestate in 1926 by public trustees. Purchasers include William Arundell Monckton and Thomas PeterTowle. The documents include correspondence, abstracts of title, deeds and printed sale catalogues.Also included are testamentary papers, including copy wills for James Robinson (1817), FrederickRobinson (1862), James Robinson (1867), George Robinson (1865) and George Coke Robertson (1912).
Papers of William Arundell Monckton relating to the purchase of Widmerpool Hall,Nottinghamshire, 1924-1928
- This material is held at
- ReferenceGB 159 Mo
- Dates of Creation1924-1928
- Name of Creator
- Language of MaterialEnglish.
- Physical Description2 boxes
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
Widmerpool Hall and its estate in Nottinghamshire was owned for much of the 19th century by theRobinson family. Major George Coke Robinson (1839-1924) succeeded his uncle, James Robinson, to theestate in 1870 and chose to resume the ancient family name of Robertson. Following the death ofMajor Robertson, the estate was sold to William Arundell Monckton who, very soon afterwards,conveyed much of the estate to Thomas Peter Towle.
The finding aid has retained the original order of the items in the collection.
Conditions Governing Access
ACCESS: Accessible to all registered readers.
Other Finding Aids
NOTE: Copyright on all Finding Aids belongs to the University of Nottingham.
- In the Reading Room, University of Nottingham Library:Typescript Catalogue to bundle level, 4 pp
- At the National Register of Archives, London:Typescript Catalogue to bundle level, 4 pp
Conditions Governing Use
REPROGRAPHIC: Photocopies and photographic copies can be supplied for educational use and privatestudy purposes only, depending on the condition of the documents.
COPYRIGHT: Identification of copyright holders of unpublished material is often difficult.Permission to make any published use of any material from the collection must be sought in advancein writing from the Keeper of Manuscripts and Special Collections (email firstname.lastname@example.org).
The collection was acquired by the University of Nottingham's library in 1952 from Maude andTunncliffe, solicitors.