Parish records of Chapel Haddlesey

Scope and Content

Includes register of christenings, 1874-1936; register of marriages, 1874-1969, 1971-1983; register of burials, 1874-2002; register of banns, 1874-2001; register of services at St John the Baptist, Haddlesey, 1878-1989, Hirst Courtney Mission Room, 1969-1976, and St John’s Chapel, Temple Hirst, 1976-1997; records concerning benefice income, including rent apportionment of glebe land, 1933, and papers relating to Queen Anne's Bounty and Lands Improvement Co., c.1874-c.1913; charity records, including papers, 1896; churchwardens’ records, including fabric notes, 1874-1890, 1908, papers relating to church renovation, 1927-2, papers relating to reservation of grave space, 1909-1910, and papers relating to pulpit, 1916; records concerning parish rooms and societies, including Mothers' Union Minute Book 1966-78 and Branch Register 1980-91; Vestry/Parochial Church Council records, including minutes of meetings, 1920-1979, accounts, 1963-1989, correspondence, 1939-1954, parish magazine, 1917, post enclosure map and survey, 1789, map of Haddlesey, c.1800, ordnance survey maps, 1908, and Haddlesey glebe map, 1911.

Administrative / Biographical History

Chapel Haddlesey, sometimes known as Middle Haddlesey, was a chapel of ease within the parish of Birkin, dedicated to St John the Baptist. The chapel, which dated to at least the fourteenth century, was rebuilt and enlarged in 1836. In 1873 Chapel Haddlesey, West Haddlesey, Temple Hirst and Hirst Courtney separated from Birkin parish to form the new parish of Chapel Haddlesey.

Today the parish, which includes St John the Baptist Church in Chapel Haddlesey and St John’s Chapel at Temple Hirst, is part of the united benefice of Haddlesey with Hambleton and Birkin.

Conditions Governing Access

Records are open to the public, subject to the overriding provisions of relevant legislation, including data protection laws. 24 hours' notice is required to access photographic material.

Acquisition Information

The archive was deposited at the Borthwick Institute in 1980. Further additions were made to the archive in 2001, 2008 and 2011.

Note

Chapel Haddlesey, sometimes known as Middle Haddlesey, was a chapel of ease within the parish of Birkin, dedicated to St John the Baptist. The chapel, which dated to at least the fourteenth century, was rebuilt and enlarged in 1836. In 1873 Chapel Haddlesey, West Haddlesey, Temple Hirst and Hirst Courtney separated from Birkin parish to form the new parish of Chapel Haddlesey.

Today the parish, which includes St John the Baptist Church in Chapel Haddlesey and St John’s Chapel at Temple Hirst, is part of the united benefice of Haddlesey with Hambleton and Birkin.

Other Finding Aids

A typescript finding aid, to file level, is available for consultation in the searchroom of the Borthwick Institute. This includes all material received up to and including 2001 and two additional parish registers. Later material has not yet been listed, please contact the Borthwick Institute for further information.

Alternative Form Available

Registers of christenings and marriages, 1874-1885, are also available on microfilm at the Borthwick Institute (References: MF 665).

Archivist's Note

Created by S. A. Shearn, 01.02.16.

Conditions Governing Use

A reprographics service is available to researchers subject to the access restrictions outlined above. Copying will not be undertaken if there is any risk of damage to the document. Copies are supplied in accordance with the Borthwick Institute for Archives' terms and conditions for the supply of copies, and under provisions of any relevant copyright legislation. Permission to reproduce images of documents in the custody of the Borthwick Institute must be sought.

Accruals

Further accruals are expected.

Additional Information

Published

GB 193