Session minutes, 1844-1907; Deacon's court minutes, 1852-1907.
Records of Crail North Church, Free Church and United Free
- For more information, email the repository
- Advice on accessing these materials
- Cite this description
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
Immediately following the Disruption of 1843 a Free Church congregation was established in Crail with worship initially conducted in a hall in Rosewynd, and the charge was sanctioned in 1845, the same year in which the church of the congregation was opened. Following the union of the United Presbyterian Church and the Free Church of Scotland in 1900, the charge became Crail North, United Free Church, and in 1907 a union was established with the United Free Church congregation of Crail West, under the name of Crail United Free Church. Following 1907, the former West Church and manse were sold and as a result of the later union of the Church of Scotland and the United Free Church in 1929, the congregation was termed Crail St David's, Church of Scotland. A further union was established with the parish church of Crail St Mary's in 1954, under the name of Crail, and after this union the former St David's church was sold. In 1976 the Kirk Session of Crail, which sits within the Presbytery of St Andrews, was linked with Kingsbarns.
Sources: John Alexander Lamb, The Fasti of the United Free Church of Scotland 1900-1929 (Edinburgh, 1956); W. Ewing, Annals of the Free Church of Scotland, 1843-1900 (Edinburgh, 1914), Vol II; Hew Scott and others (ed.), Fasti Ecclesiae Scoticanae, vols. 9-11 (Edinburgh, 1915-2000).
By appointment with the Archivist. Access to unpublished records less than 30 years old and other records containing confidential information may be restricted. Special conditions apply to photographs.
Held under charge and superintendence of the Keeper of Records for Scotland.
Description compiled by Rachel Hart, Archives Hub Project, based on description created by Lesley Doig and modified by Alan Borthwick, Scottish Archive Network project.
Other Finding Aids
Typescript catalogue available in St Andrews University Library Department of Special Collections and in National Archives of Scotland search rooms.
Conditions Governing Use
Applications for permission to quote should be sent to the University Archivist. Reproduction subject to usual conditions: educational use and condition of documents.