Signed minutes of directors' meetings, 1933-1948; resolutions for monthly repayments of part of sum advanced by Morris Motors Ltd., 1948-1974; balance sheet and annual accounts [audited copies], 1935-1968; files of Messrs. Herbert and Gowers and Company, 1933-1950; general correspondence, 1952; memoranda and articles of association, 1933/1945.
Papers of Nuffield Exports Ltd.
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
The company was established in July 1933 as Morris Industries Exports Ltd., with Sir William Morris as Governing Director, to undertake the export of Morris products. The name was changed to Nuffield Exports Ltd. in July 1945, after the administrative reorganisation associated with Sir Miles Thomas, following his appointment as vice-chairman of Morris Motors in 1940.
Reference: Catalogue to the collection
This collection forms part of the British Motor Industry Heritage Trust Archive (MSS.226).
The Modern Records Centre uses a classification scheme. For further details of the scheme, see http://www.warwick.ac.uk/services/library/mrc/mrcclass.shtml. It is compatible with ISAD(G): General International Standard Archival Description (2000).
Conditions Governing Access
There are no restrictions on access to these papers.
This collection was deposited in the Centre by the British Motor Industry Heritage Trust in 1988.
Other Finding Aids
A paper catalogue to file level is available in the Centre's searchroom, at the National Register of Archives in London and in Chadwyck-Healey's National Inventory of Documentary Sources. A catalogue to file level is available in electronic format on the Access to Archives (A2A) website at: http://www.a2a.pro.gov.uk/
An authority record exists for Morris Industries Exports Ltd. (GB 0152 AAR2313); Nuffield Exports Ltd. (GB 152 AAR2313); Morris Motors Limited (GB 152 AAR2309); Morris Motors Ltd. (GB 152 AAR2308).
Conditions Governing Use
All requests for publication of deposited material or the result of research based on it should be made to the Trust. The Trust reserves all rights to commercial exploitation and commercial publication. Please contact the Centre's staff for further details.
This collection has been weeded for duplicates.
The records were amongst those discovered in early 1988 in the Poplars building at the Cowley Body Plant when that building was being demolished.
Further deposits are not expected.