Includes various photographs of individuals and groups associated with the college.
The Wireless Training College, Colwyn Bay
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
The North Wales Wireless College was opened by Gordon Scott Whale in Caernarfon in 1918. In 1920 it moved to Upper Colwyn Bay, and in 1923 to it's final site at East Parade, Colwyn Bay. It advertised itself as providing training for young men between 15 and 25 years for 'lucrative appointments' in the wireless and cable services. It became an important centre for training radio operators during the Second World War. The College closed in 1970, and the building was finally demolished to make way for the A55 expressway. In addition to Gordon Whale himself, staff at the College included Charles Oliver and Harry Nelson. Neville Whale took over from his father as principal in 1966 until its closure.
Conditions Governing Access
This collection is open for research. Access to some documents may be restricted due to Data Protection legislation, Conwy Archives will advise where this is the case. For details and opening hours see http://www.conwy.gov.uk/en/Resident/Libraries-Museums-and-Archives/Archives/Archives.aspx.