Minutes, 1843-1932; Baptisms, 1843-1845 and 1927-1943; Deacon's Court Minutes, 1845-1944; Congregational board minutes, 1944-1956; Deacon's court accounts, 1876-1914; Communion roll, 1923-1943; Schedule for alterations to manse, 1928.
Records of Monimail Free Church, United Free, Bow of Fife Church
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
At the Disruption of 1843 the minister and a number of the congregation of the parish church of Monimail adhered to the Free Church and in 1844 a church was opened at Bow of Fife to accommodate the congregation of Monimail Free Church. The church was later renovated in 1878, but a new building was erected in 1898 and presented to the congregation by Sir Michael Nairn of Rankeillor. Following the union of the United Presbyterian Church and the Free Church of Scotland in 1900, Monimail Free Church became Monimail United Free Church and following the later union between the United Free Church and the Church of Scotland the congregation took the name Bow of Fife. In 1944 Bow of Fife was united with the parish church of Monimail, under the name of Monimail, and after the union both churches remained in use. A link was later established between Monimail Kirk Session, which presently sits within the Presbytery of St Andrews, and Springfield in 1975, however this arrangement was later terminated in favour of a link with Creich, Flisk and Kilmany.
Sources: John Alexander Lamb, The Fasti of the United Free Church of Scotland 1900-1929 (Edinburgh, 1956); W. Ewing, Annals of the Free Church of Scotland, 1843-1900 (Edinburgh, 1914) Vol II; Hew Scott and others (ed.), Fasti Ecclesiae Scoticanae, vols. 9-11 (Edinburgh, 1915-2000).
Conditions Governing Access
By appointment with the Archivist. Access to unpublished records less than 30 years old and other records containing confidential information may be restricted. Special conditions apply to photographs.
Held under charge and superintendence of the Keeper of Records for Scotland.
Description compiled by Rachel Hart, Archives Hub Project, based on description created by Lesley Doig and modified by Alan Borthwick, Scottish Archive Network project.
Other Finding Aids
Typescript catalogue available in St Andrews University Library Department of Special Collections and in National Archives of Scotland search rooms.
Conditions Governing Use
Applications for permission to quote should be sent to the University Archivist. Reproduction subject to usual conditions: educational use and condition of documents.