Trade Board (Employers') Consultative Council

Scope and Content

Minutes, 1920s-1960; correspondence and subject files, 1919-1959.

Administrative / Biographical History

The Trade Board (Employers') Consultative Council was established in 1919, following the Acts of 1909 and 1918 which set up Trade Boards to protect workers in certain low-paid trades. It was superseded by the Wages Councils (Employers') Consultative Committee, following the Wages Council Act, 1945. The NCEO/BEC provided regular secretarial / administrative help to the Council, but not all Council members belonged to NCEO/BEC and the Council can be regarded as a separate body.

Reference: Alan Crookham, Michael Wilcox, Christine Woodland and Richard Storey, 'The Confederation of British Industry and predecessor archives' (Coventry: University of Warwick Library, 1997).

Access Information

This collection is available to researchers by appointment at the Modern Records Centre, University of Warwick. See

Acquisition Information

This collection was deposited in the Centre by the CBI in 1979.

Other Finding Aids

Conditions Governing Use

Any significant work based on use of the archive must be submitted to the CBI prior to publication.

Appraisal Information

Material for the archive was selected in conjunction with the CBI's records management service.


Further deposits are not expected.

Related Material

The Centre holds the following records of the Confederation of British Industry's predecessors: the British Employers' Confederation (MSS.200/B), the Federation of British Industries (MSS.200/F), and the National Association of British Manufacturers (MSS.200/N). It also holds the records of a number of related organisations. These include: the British Dextrine Manufacturers' Association (MSS.200/BDMA), the British Industrial Measuring and Control Apparatus Manufacturers' Association (MSS.200/BIMCAM), the British Towel Manufacturers' Association (MSS.200/BTMA), the Committee of British Employers Operating Abroad (MSS.200/BEOA), the Dollar Exports Council (MSS.200/DEC), the India (Pakistan &) Burma Association (MSS.200/IPBA), the Joint Committee on India (MSS.200/JCI), the Lancashire and District Trade Effluent Committee (MSS.200/LDTE), the National Industrial Organisation (MSS.200/NIO), the NEDC Liaison Group (MSS.200/NEDC), and the Traders' Co-ordinating Committee on Transport (MSS.200/TCC).