Borough of Loughor and Town Trust records, West Glamorgan, 1833-2003, including minute books, 1833-1873; Loughor Town Trust records, 1890-1928; and Loughor Borough Council Records, 1876-1881.
Borough of Loughor Records
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
In the area of West Glamorgan there were four medieval boroughs, Loughor, Swansea, Neath and Aberavon. Under the Municipal Corporations Act 1835 Borough government was reformed. Further powers were given to boroughs in fields such as public health and policing during the nineteenth century. Boroughs and county boroughs became district councils in 1974. Loughor Borough has no recorded charter. It was thus a borough by virtue of long established custom. The earliest reference to the borough can be found in 1305. However, the history of Loughor stretches back until Roman times. The borough was abolished following a commission in 1886. Its property continues to be administered by the Loughor Town Trust which is a charity. The borough boundaries lay, like those of Swansea borough, within those of the parish, and Loughor Parish (later Community) Council continued to exercise a jurisdiction over this area until 1974.
Arranged into the following: Borough of Loughor records; Town Trust records; and Loughor Borough Council records.
Conditions Governing Access
It is the policy of the West Glamorgan Archive Service to withhold the names of depositors.
Compiled by Annette Strauch for the ANW project. The following sources were used in the compilation of this description: West Glamorgan Archive Service, Loughor Borough Records, catalogue; West Glamorgan Archive Service(www.swansea.gov.uk), viewed 23 August 2005.
Other Finding Aids
A hard copy of the catalogue is available at West Glamorgan Archive Service.
Conditions Governing Use
Usual copyright regulations apply.
All records deposited have been retained
Accruals are not expected