Deeds and mortgages relating to the purchase of the estate, leases, including building leases, and agreements for the building of houses in Gorseinon, together with accounts, correspondence and legal papers, 1820-1982; and some business records of Cross Foundry, Gorseinon, 1881-1908, and Grovesend Steel and Tinplate Company, 1909-1930.
Lewis Estate Papers
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
The Lewis estate was located in the area now called Gorseinon in Glamorganshire, in the parishes of Llandeilo Talybont, Loughor and Llangyfelach, including farms called Bryn-gwyn and Maerdy, which were sold by the trustees of the estate of the late Nathaniel Cameron in 1852. The purchaser was William Lewis of Melin-mynach, a farmer and woollen manufacturer, son of William and Mary Lewis of Llandyffan and grandson of David and Anne Lewis. He later extended his activities to tinplate manufacture, establishing a foundry at Gors-mynach. The estate was extended by the purchase of nearby farms and also minerals under adjacent properties both to the north and south of Gorseinon.. During the twentieth century the town of Gorseinon was built on land owned by the Lewis family
The documents were received in series of numbered files and the original order has been maintained throughout
It is the policy of the West Glamorgan Archive Service to withhold the names of depositors.
Compiled by Andrew Dulley of West Glamorgan Archive Service. The following source was used in the compilation of this description: West Glamorgan Archive Service, Schedule of Lewis Estate Papers.
Other Finding Aids
A hard copy of the catalogue is available at West Glamorgan Archive Service
Conditions Governing Use
Usual copyright regulations apply.
No information available
Accruals are not expected