Papers of G. O. Jones, 1842-1982, comprising research notes on the history of Caernarfon's churches, 1908-[c. 1969], the history of the town, 1969, and other subjects, [?1920]-1973; minutes of Caernarfon National School committee, 1842-1869; original material relating to the parish of Llanbeblig and its churches, 1921-1982, including lists of clergy and officials and statements of account, 1926-1982, annual financial reports, 1941-1945, and miscellaneous letters, 1921-1976; books and pamphlets, some by G. O. Jones, on religion and local church history, 1954-1980; journals, 1910-1978; and photographs relating to St Mary's Church, Caernarfon, 1904-1910 and [n. d.].
Papurau G. O. Jones
- This material is held at
- ReferenceGB 219 XM/5564, XS/2856
- Dates of Creation1842-1982
- Name of Creator
- Language of MaterialEnglish Welsh
- Physical DescriptionTo be supplied
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
G. O. Jones (fl. 1969-1982) of Ael-y-Garth, Caernarfon, Caernarfonshire, was the headmaster of Caernarfon Free School and of Maesincla Junior School, Caernarfon. He also researched the history of Caernarfon and churches in the parish of Llanbeblig, most notably St Mary's Church and Christ Church. He wrote pamphlets on their histories.
Arranged into the following: research notes of G. O. Jones; original material; religious books and pamphlets; journals; and miscellaneous.
Conditions Governing Access
No information found
Compiled by Rhys Jones for the ANW project. The following source was used in the compilation of this description: Caernarfon Record Office, Papurau y diweddar Mr G. O. Jones/Papers of the late Mr G. O. Jones, catalogue.
Other Finding Aids
Hard copies of the catalogue are available at Caernarfon Record Office, the National Library of Wales and the National Register of Archives.
Conditions Governing Use
Usual copyright regulations apply
All records have been retained
Accruals are not expected