Records of the Croesor United Slate Company Limited, 1840-1877, including records of meetings, 1865-1876; financial records, 1861-1876; shipping records, 1863-1874; correspondence, 1863-1877; postcards, 1872-1876; Post Office telegraphs, 1872-1874; cheques, 1861-1876; press-cuttings, 1866-1876; legal documents, 1864-1876; shares and debentures, 1861-1876; Directors' reports, 1861-1873; expenditure records, 1863-1875; plans and maps, 1840-1875; receipts, 1857-[c.1876]; official correspondence with shareholders, 1861-1876; and records relating to liquidation, 1873-1876.
Croesor United Slate Company Ltd Records
- This material is held at
- ReferenceGB 220 Z/DAW
- Dates of Creation1840-1877
- Name of Creator
- Language of MaterialEnglish
- Physical DescriptionInformation to be supplied
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
The Croesor slate quarries consisted of Croesor and Parc quarries. Croesor Slate Quarry, Penrhyndeudraeth, Merionethshire, first opened in the 1850s. Operated by Croesor United Slate Co. Ltd, it closed in 1878. From 1864 slate was transported along the Croesor Tramway to Porthmadog, Caernarfonshire. The quarry was later reopened in 1895, under the management of the engineer Moses Kellow (1862-1943).
Arranged by type and chronologically.
Compiled by Richard Burman for the ANW project. The following sources were used in the compilation of this description: Archifdy Meirionnydd Archives, Croesor United Slate Company Ltd Papers, catalogue; NLW, Schedule of Croesor Slate Quarries Records; Richards, Alun John, A Gazeteer of the Welsh Slate Industry (Gwasg Carreg Gwalch, 1991); Richards, Alun John, Slate Quarrying in Wales (Llanwrst, 1995).
Other Finding Aids
Hard copies of the catalogue are available in Meirionnydd Archives, Caernarfon Record Office, the National Library of Wales and the National Register of Archives.
Conditions Governing Use
Usual copyright regulations apply.
All records deposited at Meirionnydd Archives have been retained.
Accruals are not expected