Parish records of Kexby

Scope and Content

Includes register of baptisms, 1852-2005; register of marriages, 1852-1977, 1979-2004; register of burials, 1853-2003; register of banns, 1852-2004; register of services, 1952-2006; register of confirmations, 1950-1959, 1962-1987; records concerning benefice income, including correspondence relating to glebe sales, 1914, and correspondence and papers, 1935-1972; churchwardens’ records, including fabric papers, 1936-1982; records of incumbents, including papers concerning union of benefice, 1959, and parsonage house papers, 1962, 1965-1967; Vestry/Parochial Church Council minutes of meetings, 1924-1951.

Administrative / Biographical History

The parish of Kexby was formed from that of Catton on 7 February 1853. The present church of St Paul had been designed by F. C. Penrose and consecrated in 1852, replacing a lost medieval chapel dedicated to St Mary. A parsonage house was also built in the same year.
The patronage of the church was held by Lord Wenlock in 1853 and descended with the manor of Wenlock until 1912 when, on the death of Beilby Lawley, it passed to the Forbes Adam family. The patronage was subsequently held by the Viscounts de Vesci and Baron Egremont.
In 1959 the benefice was united with that of Wilberfoss. St Paul’s church was closed in 2007, although the graveyard continued to be used for burials. Today the parish church of the united benefice is St John the Baptist, Wilberfoss.

Access Information

Records are open to the public, subject to the overriding provisions of relevant legislation, including data protection laws. 24 hours' notice is required to access photographic material.

Acquisition Information

The archive was deposited at the Borthwick Institute in 1978 by the incumbent. Further additions were made to the archive in 1979, 1983 and 2006.

Note

The parish of Kexby was formed from that of Catton on 7 February 1853. The present church of St Paul had been designed by F. C. Penrose and consecrated in 1852, replacing a lost medieval chapel dedicated to St Mary. A parsonage house was also built in the same year.
The patronage of the church was held by Lord Wenlock in 1853 and descended with the manor of Wenlock until 1912 when, on the death of Beilby Lawley, it passed to the Forbes Adam family. The patronage was subsequently held by the Viscounts de Vesci and Baron Egremont.
In 1959 the benefice was united with that of Wilberfoss. St Paul’s church was closed in 2007, although the graveyard continued to be used for burials. Today the parish church of the united benefice is St John the Baptist, Wilberfoss.

Other Finding Aids

A typescript finding aid, to file level, is available for consultation in the searchroom of the Borthwick Institute. This includes all material received up to and including 2006.

Alternative Form Available

Registers of marriages, 1852-1900, are also available on microfilm at the Borthwick Institute (References: MF 714, 1753).

Archivist's Note

Created by S. A. Shearn, 23.02.16.

Conditions Governing Use

A reprographics service is available to researchers subject to the access restrictions outlined above. Copying will not be undertaken if there is any risk of damage to the document. Copies are supplied in accordance with the Borthwick Institute for Archives' terms and conditions for the supply of copies, and under provisions of any relevant copyright legislation. Permission to reproduce images of documents in the custody of the Borthwick Institute must be sought.

Accruals

Further accruals are expected.

Additional Information

Published

GB 193