Society records of the Methodist Church, Moor Monkton Methodist Chapel

Scope and Content

Records of Trustees, including meeting minute book, 1885-1976, treasurer's account book, 1886-1972, and list of trustees, 1914; property and fabric papers, including bills and receipts relating to chapel building, 1886, and papers relating to the closure and sale of the chapel, 1979-1981; circular seeking subscription for the building and opening of the chapel, 1886; letter from American chapel concerning exchange of ministers, 1972; Sunday School attendance register, 1910-1946.

Administrative / Biographical History

Moor Monkton Wesleyan Methodist Chapel was built in 1886, on a site given by the High Sheriff of Yorkshire, Captain Slingsby. It consisted of a room with seating for 90 people and an adjoining schoolroom for Sunday School classes.

The chapel was part of the York, Wesley Circuit of the Wesleyan Methodist Connexion until 1935 when, following the unification of the Primitive, Wesleyan and United Methodist churches, the Wesley and Victoria Bar Circuits merged. Thereafter Moor Monkton was part of an enlarged York, Wesley Circuit of what was now a unified Methodist Connexion.

The chapel was closed in 1979 and the building sold.

Conditions Governing Access

Records are open to the public, subject to the overriding provisions of relevant legislation, including data protection laws. 24 hours' notice is required to access photographic material.

Acquisition Information

The archive was deposited at the Borthwick Institute prior to 1999. A further addition was made to the archive in 1999.

Note

Moor Monkton Wesleyan Methodist Chapel was built in 1886, on a site given by the High Sheriff of Yorkshire, Captain Slingsby. It consisted of a room with seating for 90 people and an adjoining schoolroom for Sunday School classes.

The chapel was part of the York, Wesley Circuit of the Wesleyan Methodist Connexion until 1935 when, following the unification of the Primitive, Wesleyan and United Methodist churches, the Wesley and Victoria Bar Circuits merged. Thereafter Moor Monkton was part of an enlarged York, Wesley Circuit of what was now a unified Methodist Connexion.

The chapel was closed in 1979 and the building sold.

Other Finding Aids

A typescript finding aid, to file level, is available for consultation in the searchroom of the Borthwick Institute.

Archivist's Note

Created by S. A. Shearn, 01.12.16.

Conditions Governing Use

A reprographics service is available to researchers subject to the access restrictions outlined above. Copying will not be undertaken if there is any risk of damage to the document. Copies are supplied in accordance with the Borthwick Institute for Archives' terms and conditions for the supply of copies, and under provisions of any relevant copyright legislation. Permission to reproduce images of documents in the custody of the Borthwick Institute must be sought.

Accruals

Further accruals are not expected.

Related Material

Circuit records for York, Wesley Circuit of both the Wesleyan and single Methodist Connexion are deposited at the Borthwick Institute as a single archive: Circuit records of the Methodist Connexion, York, Wesley Circuit (MRC/2).

Additional Information

Published

GB193