Cambridge University Automobile Club: Minutes and Papers

Archive Collection

Scope and Content

Minute Book, 1903-1914 and 1931, containing minutes of committee and general meetings, 1903-1910; special meeting, 1914; a note by C.A. Branston, 1931, summarising later developments; rough notes of action by the Secretary; lists of members; and maps showing the location of the garage, etc.

Rules of the C.U.A.C. (printed), undated, possibly 1906, accompanied by a leaflet of amendments to the rules, undated.

Cash Books: (1) 1903-1909 and (2) 1908-1914; cheque book stubs, 1910-1914, and stubs of receipts, 1907-1911.

Address Book: home addresses of members in alphabetical order.

Correspondence of Secretary in labelled sections: (1) Attempted revival of club and disposal of property, 1914; (2) Views as to disposal of property, 1920; (3) Final decision and disposal of property, 1926-1927.

Administrative / Biographical History

The Cambridge University Automobile Club was founded in 1902 and was active until 1910. It had a club room containing periodicals and other literature relating to the sport, and a garage for the storage and repair of members' cars. The club organised 'runs', hill climbs, for which there were two trophies, the Rothschild Challenge Cup and the Garnett-Botfield Challenge Cup for Motor Cycles, and was involved in inter-varsity races. In October 1910 the club voted to suspend its activities, apparently because of a lack of undergraduate members. After correspondence with the remaining life member in 1920 and 1926 the club was formally wound up. Its trophies were given to the Cambridge University Motorcycle Club.

Conditions Governing Access

Open for consultation by holders of a Reader's Ticket valid for the Manuscripts Reading Room.

Acquisition Information

Presented by Major C.A. Branston, Trinity College, 1949.

Note

Description compiled by Robert Steiner, Department of Manuscripts and University Archives.

Other Finding Aids

Additional Manuscripts Catalogue.

Personal Names