Llanychan National School opened on 12 July 1866 as a mixed school of 40 pupils both infants and juniors. It was newly built and designed by architect R Lloyd Williams.
The first head teacher was Evan Williams. It was a popular and successful school with numbers increasing to 90 plus by the early 1870s. (ED/LB/68/2)
By January 1874 there was a new Head teacher - David Jones who died in post in January 1881.
He was succeeded by Thomas Jerman as Head teacher. Pupil numbers began to fall and by 1893 there were 46 on the register as families moved away. The school at nearby Gellifor also took numbers away. Thomas Jerman resigned in July 1907 after 27 years as Head teacher.
Pupil numbers continued to fall and in January 1909 notice was received from the Education Authority that the school would cease to be maintained after 30th April 1909 ED/LB/68/1)
This collection consists of 2 log books.
Llanychan, Denbighshire. LL15 1UF