Deeds and related papers, 1810-1933, concerning the Garreg Fawr Slate and mineral quarries, Llanbeblig, Caernarfonshire.
Garreg Fawr Deeds
- This material is held at
- ReferenceGB 219 XM/1457
- Dates of Creation1810-1933
- Name of Creator
- Language of MaterialEnglish
- Physical Description(47 items)
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
The Garreg Fawr Slate and Mineral Co. Ltd quarried a small pit, Garreg Fawr, in the parish of Llanbeblig, Caernarfonshire, from the early 1800s. The quarry was worked sporadically until the mid 1880s, and then occasionally on a small scale until the 1930s. In 1872 the quarry was owned by Thomas Turner of Plas Bereton, Sir Llewelyn Turner of Parkia and Morgan Lloyd of London.
Compiled by Richard Burman for the ANW project. The following sources were used in the compilation of this description: Caernarfon Record Office, Garreg Fawr Deeds, catalogue; Richards, Alun John A Gazeteer of the Welsh Slate Industry (Llanrwst, 1991).
Other Finding Aids
A hard copy of the catalogue is available in Caernarfon Record Office
Conditions Governing Use
Usual copyright regulations apply.
All records deposited at Caernarfon Record Office have been retained.
The papers came into the possession of Moses Griffith, Menai Bridge, Anglesey.
Accruals are not expected