Calfaria Baptist Church, Cadoxton, Records
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
When the Welsh speakers who attended Philadelphia Chapel in Cadoxton decided that the premises had become too small for the number of Welsh speaking Baptists wishing to attend, they decided to build a larger Chapel. Calfaria Welsh Baptist chapel, sited on the corner of Court Rd and Dovedale St, Cadoxton, Barry, was built in sandstone with Bathstone dressing by Mr Jonathan Lewis of Cadoxton, and a deacon of the church, and the architect was Mr Jenkin Williams of Cardiff. The interior finish was pitch pine with gas lighting. On 22 August 1896 two foundation stones were laid by Miss Maud Rees-Jones of Cardiff and Mrs Thomas, wife of Mr Edward Thomas J.P, of Cardiff. In the concrete bedding underneath the stones two earthenware jars were placed containing a history of the church and copies of various publications of the denomination. On 18 November 1896 Memorial stones were laid by Mr Daniel Thomas of Porthcawl, Mrs Ann Rees of Cardiff, Mr G.H. Davies of Cardiff, Mr D.D Joseph Watkins of Swansea and Rev G. L. Williams of Cadoxton. The church was completed at a cost of £1800. The new chapel was 34 feet by 45 feet and about 20 feet from floor to ceiling with a gallery running around three sides, and a large baptistery under the pulpit. The basement schoolroom included lavatories, Scullery and coalhouse. The church was opened to public worship on 7 July 1897 by Mrs D. Davies of Cardiff.
On the 5th July 1897 new trustees were appointed by the church to hold the property on behalf of the members, and setting out the conditions on which it was held, the main uses of the building, and the major doctrines held by the church.
By 1905 the church had reduced its debt from the construction costs by half. Rev Morris Isaac after 18 years service resigned his pastorate in 1910 and became pastor of Weston Hill (D1075). In April 1913 services were held to celebrate the centenary of Philadelphia and Calfaria and a bilingual history was produced. (see Canmlwyddiant: Phildelphia 1813- Calfaria, 1913)
In 1956 Calfaria Baptist Church was merged with Weston Hill Chapel, and closed in 2003. By March 2014, the church had been converted into residential apartments.
Chronological within record series.
Conditions Governing Access
Other Finding Aids
A detailed catalogue is available online
Physical Characteristics and/or Technical Requirements
Compiled by Berwyn Thomas for Glamorgan Archives with reference to BarryWales website (http://www.barrywales.co.uk/tomclemett/default.asp) viewed 22 May 2014 AND to Salem Baptist church website (http://www.salembaptistbarry.org.uk/) viewed 23 May 2014 and Canmlwyddiant : Phildelphia 1813- Calfaria, 1913 AND A History of the Baptist Churches of Barry by P. Trollope
Conditions Governing Use
Normal Glamorgan Archives conditions apply.
All records which meet the collection policy of Glamorgan Archives have been retained.
The records remained in the custody of the donor until transferred to Glamorgan Archives.
Accruals are possible.