These are the personal papers of Major Adám Ormagy Macher, 1936-1947.
The papers are arranged into the following series:
AOM/2 Official papers
The correspondence includes both personal correspondence and official Salvation Army correspondence received by Major Macher in 1936-1938, 1944 and 1947. The personal correspondence largely relates to Major Macher's interest in the Hungarian Methodist Episcopal Church and his temporary leave of absence to preach for that Church. Letters also discuss family news, the wearing of uniform, details of appointments to the Men's Home, Budapest, and to financial boards at Budapest Headquarters, and translation on corps visits. The official correspondence relates to Major Macher's transfer from Budapest to Rákosszentmihály in 1944, and to the emptying and confiscation of the Salvation Army hall in Debrecen and the potential confiscation of officers' quarters on Kertész Street, Debrecen, in 1947.
The official records, mostly relating to Segélykiáltás, the Hungarian-language 'War Cry', were issued by the Hungarian state and local authorities and by the Association for the Representation of the Interests of Hungarian Periodicals from 1937-1947. These include two resolutions issued by The Mayor of Budapest (October 1939), the first, 'concerning the limitations placed on the public lives and economic expansion of the Jews', stating that 'the publishing license for periodicals loses its validity if [...] the publisher of the periodical is considered a Jew', and the second confirming that the identity of editor Margit Króner had been verified in line with the earlier resolution. Later papers in the file include a letter from the Association for the Representation of the Interests of Hungarian Periodicals awarding Segélykiáltás with gold, silver and bronze medals and honourable mention in the First Hungarian National Press Exhibition (February 1943), and a final resolution issued by The Mayor of Budapest (May 1944) banning the publication of Segélykiáltás.
The records are in Hungarian (Magyar) or German, but English translations made by Major John Dyall were deposited with the records.