Bangor English Methodist Circuit records

Scope and Content

Minute and account books, 1841-1947; correspondence, 1832-1931; circuits schedule books, trust schedules and other statistical and financial records, 1835-1957; circuit plans of the Caernavron and Bangor English Wesleyan Methodist circuit, 1857-1969; Bangor society, 1901-1957, and trustees' records, 1884-1921; Caernarfon society, 1878-1909, and trustees' records , 1843-1926; and Porthmadog society, 1892-1897, and trustees' records, 1836-1902.

Administrative / Biographical History

Methodist churches were grouped into circuits, with a superintendent minister; several circuits formed a district. The Caernavon English [Wesleyan] Circuit, Caernarfonshire, was later known as Caernarvon and Bangor English [Wesleyan] Circuit. In 1897, the Caernarvon and Bangor English [Wesleyan] Circuit established a missioner at Porthmadog. The Caernarvon and Bangor English [Wesleyan] Circuit was later known as Bangor English Methodist Circuit.


Arranged into the following: circuit records; Bangor; Caernarfon; and Porthmadog.

Conditions Governing Access

No restrictions


Compiled by Seri Crawley for the ANW project. The following sources were used to compile this description: Caernarfon Record Office, Bangor English Methodist Circuit records; Methodism in Wales website ( viewed 27th September 2004.

Other Finding Aids

Hard copies of the catalogue are available in Caernarfon Record Office, the National Library of Wales and the National Register of Archives. The catalogue is available online.

Conditions Governing Use

Usual copyright regulations apply

Appraisal Information

All records deposited at Caenarfon Record Office have been retained.


Accruals are not expected.


James Egan Moulton, Wesleyan Methodist Magazine, 1982, p. 492; and John H. Davis, St. John Methodist Church Bangor, A Story of a People and their Buildings (Bangor, 1975).