Parish records of Yedingham

Scope and Content

Includes register of christenings, 1717-1989; register of marriages, 1717-1811, 1813-1968; register of burials, 1717-1993; register of banns, 1824-1981; register of confirmations, 1890-1989; register of services, 1912-1962; benefice income papers, 1881-1925; churchwardens’ records, including accounts, 1889-1913, 1921-1922, 1924, 1936-1939, 1941-1959, fabric papers, 1937, 1952-1955, and churchyard papers, 1937-1938; records of incumbents, including statistical returns, 1891, 1936-1939, 1956; overseers’ rates, 1921-1924; Vestry/Parochial Church Council records, including minutes of meetings, 1931-1938, and correspondence and papers, 1922-1958.

Administrative / Biographical History

There was a church at Yedingham from at least the thirteenth century, when it was given by Anketin de Heslerton to Yedingham Priory. It was appropriated to the priory, and a vicarage ordained there, in 1231. The Priory held the advowson until the Dissolution of the Monasteries in the sixteenth century, after which it appears to have passed into private hands. By the 1760s it was held by the Marquis of Rockingham and by the 1840s by Earl Fitzwilliam.

The present parish church is dedicated to St John the Baptist and dates largely to the restoration of 1862-1864, although it incorporates parts of the medieval building. The restoration was carried out by architect W. Tuke of Bradford.

Today Yedingham is part of the parish of West and East Heslerton with Yedingham within the united benefice of Buckrose Carrs.

Conditions Governing Access

Records are open to the public, subject to the overriding provisions of relevant legislation, including data protection laws. 24 hours' notice is required to access photographic material.

Acquisition Information

The archive was deposited at the Borthwick Institute in 1964 by the incumbent. Further additions were made to the archive in 1992, 1993,1994 and 2016.

Note

There was a church at Yedingham from at least the thirteenth century, when it was given by Anketin de Heslerton to Yedingham Priory. It was appropriated to the priory, and a vicarage ordained there, in 1231. The Priory held the advowson until the Dissolution of the Monasteries in the sixteenth century, after which it appears to have passed into private hands. By the 1760s it was held by the Marquis of Rockingham and by the 1840s by Earl Fitzwilliam.

The present parish church is dedicated to St John the Baptist and dates largely to the restoration of 1862-1864, although it incorporates parts of the medieval building. The restoration was carried out by architect W. Tuke of Bradford.

Today Yedingham is part of the parish of West and East Heslerton with Yedingham within the united benefice of Buckrose Carrs.



Other Finding Aids

A typescript finding aid, to file level, is available for consultation in the searchroom of the Borthwick Institute. This includes all material received up to and including 2016.

Alternative Form Available

Registers of christenings, 1717-1982, marriages, 1717-1900, burials, 1717-1993, and banns, 1824-1900, are also available on microfilm at the Borthwick Institute (References: MF 820, 1581, 1755, 1756, 1778).

Archivist's Note

Created by S. A. Shearn, 23.03.16. Revised 09.08.16 to include 2016 accession.

Conditions Governing Use

A reprographics service is available to researchers subject to the access restrictions outlined above. Copying will not be undertaken if there is any risk of damage to the document. Copies are supplied in accordance with the Borthwick Institute for Archives' terms and conditions for the supply of copies, and under provisions of any relevant copyright legislation. Permission to reproduce images of documents in the custody of the Borthwick Institute must be sought.

Accruals

Further accruals are expected.

Related Material

The parish records of East Heslerton are also deposited at the Borthwick Institute.

Additional Information

Published

GB 193