Material relating to the Tumble Welfare Association (1959-1992) and Great Mountain Colliery Site Liason Committee (c1975-9).
Tumble Welfare Association and Great Mountain Colliery Site Liaison Committee
- For more information, email the repository
- Advice on accessing these materials
- Cite this description
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
Tumble is situated on the Western edge of the Coalfield, near Cross Hands, Carmarthenshire.
The Tumble Welfare Association was set up in the early 1920s, and was based in the Public Hall and Workman's Institute at Tumble. It consisted of a hall, institute, recreation ground and cinema, and was a member of the Friendly Societies. By the 1970s however, the lack of sufficient funds meant that the decision was taken to dissolve the association. The cinema closed in 1977, with the Welfare Hall being transferred to Llannon Community Council and the Graig Field to Llanelli Borough Council. The last meeting of officials was held on the 20th September 1978 and the association finally ended in 1985.
The Great Mountain Colliery Site Liaison Committee was formed in October 1975, after a public meeting held in Tumble to discuss the open cast working on the site of the closed Great Mountain Colliery. The committee consisted of representatives of Llannon Community Council, The Tumble Welfare Association, local residents (one of which was Mr Basil Smith), and representatives from Llanelli District Council. The first meeting was held on the 29th October 1975.
Divided into 2 subfonds:Tumble Welfare Association and Great Mountain Colliery Site Liaison Committee
Conditions Governing Access
Access unrestricted unless stated otherwise.
Received from Mr Basil Smith, Secretary of the Tumble Welfare Association, in March 1996.
Finding aid encoded by Julie Anderson June 2003.
Other Finding Aids
A paper list is available.
Conditions Governing Use
A photocopying service is available. Contact repository for details.
No publication without written permission from the Archivist.