Glan Afan Comprehensive School

Scope and Content

E/GAC 1/1-7 Log books

E/GAC 2/1-9 School Admission Registers

E/GAC 3/1-6 Duplicate set of School Admission Registers

E/GAC 4/1-6 Pupil Record Books

E/GAC 5/1-3 Staff Registers

E/GAC 6/1-15 School Prospectus

E/GAC 7/1-2 Glan Afan Comprehensive School Year Book

E/GAC 8/1-4 Inspection Reports and Examinations

E/GAC 9/1-8 Records relating to Glan Afan School anniversaries

E/GAC 10/1-190 Avonian: Magazine of Glan Afan School

E/GAC 11/1-8 Bound volumes of Avonian

E/GAC 12/1-15 Glan Afan Avonian Bulletin

E/GAC 13/1-40 Glan Afan School Photographs

E/GAC 14/1-2 Glan Afan School productions and events

E/GAC 15/1-7 Papers relating to former pupils and staff

E/GAC 16/1-2 Papers relating to the Eisteddfod and Urdd Gobaith Cymru

E/GAC 17/1-8 Glan Afan School Memorabilia

E/GAC 18/1-12 Additional records

E/GAC 19/1-12 Plans of the school

E/GAC 20/1-14 Additional photographs

Administrative / Biographical History

The corner stone of the Port Talbot County School was laid by Miss Emily Talbot on 24 April 1893. The school opened on 28 September 1896 when 44 boys and 41 girls enrolled. The school magazine Avonian was first published in 1902. The new block consisting of six classrooms, an art room, a craft room, a biology lab, gymnasium and a new hall were officially opened by Alderman John Thomas in 1938. Port Talbot County School became Glan Afan Grammar School in 1951. In 1959 Glan Afan Grammar School became Glan Afan Technical School. Later in 1965 Glan Afan Grammar Technical, Sandfields and Trefelin Secondary Modern Schools amalgamated to create Glan Afan Comprehensive School. Former famous pupils include Michael Sheen.

Conditions Governing Access

No restrictions

Other Finding Aids

A hard copy is available at the West Glamorgan Archive Service

Conditions Governing Use

Usual copyright regulations apply.

Appraisal Information

All records received by the West Glamorgan Archive Service have been retained

Accruals

Accruals are possible.