Records of the Mid-Lincolnshire Electric Supply Company Limited, 1936-1948

Archive Collection

Scope and Content

The collection comprises signed directors' minute book covering 1936-1948 (BEZ 1) and a registerof directors covering 1932-1939 (BEZ 2).

The minute book does not contain the first minutes of the company. If earlier minute books of thecompany are still in existence, their location has not been ascertained. Earlier minutes in thisvolume concentrate on the financial and share aspects of the company while later minutes providemore specific details about the company's operational and management activities. The register ofdirectors contains details of share ownership.

Administrative / Biographical History

The Mid-Lincolnshire Electric Supply Company Limited began operating some time between 1930 and1933. The firm had offices and showrooms in Lincoln, Grantham, Bourne, Spilsby and Skegness. In1936, it also erected a new Lincoln division headquarters at Heighington. The company suppliedelectricity to domestic and commercial premises in Lincolnshire. According to company minutes for1936, it was closely associated with the Lincolnshire and Central Electric Supply Company. Nothingis known of that company whose name does not appear in the 1937 trade directory. TheMid-Lincolnshire company was nationalised with the rest of the electric power industry in 1948 andits activities were taken over by the East Midlands Electricity Board.

Arrangement

The collection has been divided by document type into two series.

Conditions Governing Access

ACCESS: Accessible to all registered readers subject torestrictions concerning personal information.

REPROGRAPHIC: Reprographic copies can be supplied for educational use and private study purposesonly, depending on access status and the condition of the documents.

Other Finding Aids

This description is the only finding aid available for the collection. Copyright in thedescription belongs to The University of Nottingham.

Conditions Governing Use

COPYRIGHT: Permission to make published use of the collection must be sought in advance inwriting from the Keeper of the Department of Manuscripts and Special Collections (email mss-library@nottingham.ac.uk). The Department willtry to assist in identifying copyright owners but this is often difficult and the responsibility forcopyright clearance before publication ultimately rests with the person wishing to publish.

LANGUAGE: English

Custodial History

The collection was given to The University of Nottingham's Department of Manuscripts and SpecialCollections in April 2000 by PowerGen.

Geographical Names