Barry Docks, Records

Scope and Content

Barry Dock and Railway Contract No. 7, drawings 2-5. Hydraulic machinery required for the gate opening machines of inner and outer gates.

There are some pencil annotations regarding engineering matters on the drawings including a reference to a letter dated 20 October 1893. The top right hand corner of each drawing is inscribed in pencil 'To Mr J Wolfe Barry'.

Administrative / Biographical History

Barry Docks were opened in 1889 by David Davies and John Cory. The principal engineer was John Wolfe Barry, assisted by Thomas Forster Brown and Henry Marc Brunel.

Arrangement

Original order retained.

Conditions Governing Access

No restrictions.

Acquisition Information

Transferred from Archives and Research Collections, University of Bath.

Other Finding Aids

A detailed catalogue is available online.

Physical Characteristics and/or Technical Requirements

Good condition

Archivist's Note

Compiled by Hannah Price for Glamorgan Archives.

Conditions Governing Use

Normal Glamorgan Archives conditions apply.

Appraisal Information

All records which meet the collection policy of Glamorgan Archives have been retained.

Custodial History

Unknown.

Accruals

Accruals are not expected.