Anglesey Hunting Club

Scope and Content

95 items, consisting mainly of financial records and correspondence relating to the Club, including, book of resolutions, 1815-1960; account books, 1815-1979; letters and notices, 1895-1984; receipt books of subscriptions, 1815-1968.

Administrative / Biographical History

The Anglesey Hunting Club was formed by several Anglesey gentlemen in December 1815 for the purpose of meeting monthly in order to dine together after a day's hunting. No person residing outside Anglesey was eligible as a member of the Club according to a resolution of 1821. Those who passed the Chair of the Anglesey Hunt were also candidates for membership. Another rule made in 1825 stated that young bachelors on their marriage should pay 10 guineas into the funds of the Club. The first uniform, worn in 1816, consisted of a scarlet hunting frock with a green velvet collar, buff waistcoat, white breeches and plain yellow metal buttons were to be worn on the coat and waistcoat.

Conditions Governing Access

Open to all users