Allegri Quartet Archive

Archive Collection

Scope and Content

The archive comprises the business records of the Allegri String Quartet from its foundation to the present day, deposited by various members of the quartet. The archive includes manuscript, printed and photographic records of the quartet'stours and performances around the world, as well as material relating to its recordings, commissions (scores), and its teaching residencies at a number of British universities. Composers from whom the quartet has commissioned new works include JamesMacMillan, Colin Matthews, and Anthony Payne. The quartet has also collaborated with a large number of international performers and artists.

Administrative / Biographical History

The Allegri String Quartet was founded in 1953. Its members have included: Pál Banda, Jonathan Barritt, James Barton, Peter Carter, Ofer Falk, Eli Goren, Patrick Ireland, Katherine Jenkinson, Keith Lovell, Fiona McNaught, Hugh Maguire, PrunellaPacey, William Pleeth, David Roth, Bruno Schrecker, Roger Tapping, Peter Thomas, Rafael Todes and Dorothea Vogel.

Conditions Governing Access

The collection has not yet been sorted or catalogued. For this reason, it is not normally possible to consult the collection.

Acquisition Information

Donated by Peter Carter, David Roth and Patrick Ireland.

Other Finding Aids

This collection description only.

Conditions Governing Use

Permission to make any published use of material from the collection must be sought in advance from the Sub-Librarian, Special Collections (e-mail and, where appropriate, from the copyright owner. The Library will assistwhere possible with identifying copyright owners, but responsibility for ensuring copyright clearance rests with the user of the material.


Piers Burton-Page,The Allegri at 50. A quartet in 5 movements (Wordperfect Print, [2004]).